OMTimes Radio Archives

Claire B. Willis - Opening to Grief

November 9, 2020

Claire B. Willis – Opening to Grief: An Invitation to Turn Towards Emotions

Airing Monday, November 9, 2020 at 11:00 AM PST / 2:00 PM EST / 6:00 PM GMT / 7:00 PM CET

All of us at some point in our lives, experience loss, yet few of us are comfortable with grieving. It is hard to navigate the waters of loss. How does grief manifest in our lives? How can we integrate grieving while still carrying on with day-to-day commitments? The passage of time may be of some help, but time by itself is not the answer. It is how we “spend” the time. Join Voice Visionary Kara Johnstad and Claire B. Willis, author and clinical social worker for a heartfelt conversation on grief and how we can learn to give it a voice. Co-founder of the Boston nonprofit, Facing Cancer Together Claire is a lay Buddhist chaplain, and yoga/meditation teacher specialized in oncology, therapeutic writing, and bereavement for the last 25 years.

Today she celebrates with us the release of her new book, Opening to Grief: Finding Your Way from Loss to Peace, which she co-authored with Marnie Crawford Samuelson. If our lives are to remain vital, our hearts have to stay open, for our grief is an expression of our love. Join Kara and Claire as we deepen the practice of embracing grief and holding uncertainty.

To get in touch with Kara go to http://www.karajohnstad.com/

Visit the Voice Rising show page https://omtimes.com/iom/shows/voice-rising/

#ClaireBWillis #OpeningToGrief #Grief #VoiceRising #KaraJohnstad

Play this podcast on Podbean App