OMTimes Radio Archives

Annie Patterson - Rise Up and Sing

September 14, 2020

Annie Patterson – Rise Up and Sing

Aired Monday, September 14, 2020 at 11:00 AM PST / 2:00 PM EST / 7:00 PM GMT / 8:00 PM CET

Annie Patterson is one of America’s premiere song leaders. She has been singing around the globe for over 30 years and is well known for her work as co-creator/editor of the songbooks Rise Up Singing and Rise Again. Join Voice Visionary Kara Johnstad and accomplished folk performer, jazz vocalist, musician, peace activist, mother and community organizer Annie Patterson, as they talk about the transformational power of music, the importance of raising our voices in the community, and the role singing plays in helping kids with learning challenges. In these challenging times, discover what key role our voice plays in the success of social movements and how we can use singing and deep listening to bridge the divides.

“Singing songs together can be a very effective and non-violent way to speak out as a community and can also help us listen better to each other so we can find unity and hope together.” Annie Patterson

For more information on Annie Patterson go to https://www.riseupandsing.org/

To get in touch with Kara go to http://www.karajohnstad.com/

Visit the Voice Rising show page https://omtimes.com/iom/shows/voice-rising/

#AnniePatterson #RiseUpAndSing #VoiceRising #KaraJohnstad

Play this podcast on Podbean App